Tuesday, June 21, 2011


NASCAR K&N Pro Series West Graduates Shine In NCWTS
The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series was created as a stepping stone for competitors - to help bridge the gap between the NASCAR Touring Series and the NASCAR Nationwide Series.
And almost a decade later the ladder system continues to prove successful.
Three of the top four finishers from the NCWTS race at Texas Motor Speedway on June 10 were K&N Pro Series West graduates and/or current competitors.
· Ron Hornaday Jr. (3rd) – Has six wins in 46 starts in the K&N Pro Series West between 1989 and 2001.
· David Mayhew (2nd) – Currently sits fourth in K&N Pro Series West championship standings. He has three wins in 44 starts since 2007.
· Brian Ickler (5th) – Has three wins in 26 starts in 2006, 2007 and 2009. He also competed in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East were he captured four wins in 17 starts.
In addition, Ricky Carmichael (6th) and Miguel Paludo (8th) competed in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East. Justin Lofton – who finished 10th at Texas – was also a graduate of the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West.
Carmichael, Papis Focus On Nationwide During NCWTS Open Weekend
While the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series embarks on its second straight open weekend on the schedule, season regulars Ricky Carmichael and Max Papis will turn their focus to the NASCAR Nationwide Series event this weekend at Road America.
Carmichael will pilot the No. 30 Chevrolet for Turner Motorsports while Papis wheels the No. 33 Chevrolet for Kevin Harvick Inc.
It will be the first Nationwide Series start of 2011 and first at Road America for both competitors.
Papis currently sits 11th in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series standings followed by Carmichael in 12th.
Up Next: Kentucky Motor Speedway
The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will return to action on Thursday, July 7 at Kentucky Motor Speedway following three open weekends on the schedule.
In 11 races at Kentucky, 10 different winners have visited victory lane, including six (Biffle, Bliss, Hamilton, Benson, Hornaday and Bodine) who went onto win the series championship in the same season.
This season will mark the first time the series has competed at Kentucky Speedway twice in one season. The series will return to the 1.5-mile oval on Saturday, Oct. 1.

No comments:

Tequila Patrón North American Endurance Cup Leaders

Tequila Patrón North American Endurance Cup Leaders Parlay Successful Outings At Sebring Into Points Lead Post-Daytona Leaders Remai...