Tuesday, April 22, 2014


Who’s Next? 
Who will be the next to pull into Victory Lane for the first time? Will it be Brian Scott, Ty Dillon, Dylan Kwasniewski or perhaps even Chris Buescher? In two of the last three NASCAR Nationwide Series races a first-time winner has celebrated victoriously. Kyle Larson posted his first series race win at Auto Club in late March with Chase Elliott winning at Texas in the following event. This is the fifth consecutive season the series has crowned a first-time winner.
JRM Displaying Championship Form
It has been a good start to the 2014 season for JR Motorsports. In seven races, drivers Regan Smith and Chase Elliott have accumulated an impressive three wins, four top-five and 13 top-10 finishes. Elliott won the two most recent races (Texas and Darlington), with his teammate capturing the checkered flag in the season opener at Daytona. Elliott currently leads the series standings by 13 points over Smith. JR Motorsports is still searching for its first NASCAR Nationwide Series championship.
RCR To Make 1,000th Nationwide Start
With the series headed to Richmond International Raceway, Richard Childress Racing is approaching a milestone. When the green flag falls on Friday night’s race, RCR will have four cars entered in the race with drivers Cale Conley, Ty Dillon, Brendan Gaughan and Brian Scott behind the wheels, marking the 1,000th series start for the organization. RCR drivers have celebrated in Richmond’s Victory Lane six times in the NNS, most recently in fall 2012.  

Monday, April 21, 2014


Drivers Remain Busy During Break
While the next race for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series isn’t until May 9 at Kansas Speedway, several drivers will be on the track this week. More than a dozen teams are spending Monday and Tuesday at Charlotte Motor Speedway testing for their upcoming race there on Friday, May 16. Timothy Peters and Jeb Burton will also compete in the Denny Hamlin Short Track Showdown Thursday night April 24 at South Boston (Va.) Speedway.
Tight Points Battles Heading Into Kansas
Timothy Peters and Johnny Sauter enter the SFP 250 at Kansas Speedway tied for the lead in the points standings. Both drivers are four points ahead of defending champion and the most recent race winner Matt Crafton (82-78). Ben Kennedy holds the early lead in the Sunoco Rookie of the Year race with a nine-point advantage over Tyler Reddick (29-20).

Friday, April 18, 2014

Tribute to Past, Present, Future, and Fallen Linemen Gateway Motorsports Park

Tribute to Past, Present, Future, and Fallen Linemen
To Headline NASCAR Camping World Truck Series
St. Louis Event
NASCAR’s historic return to the new Gateway Motorsports Park
to be known as the ‘Drivin’ for Linemen 200’

St. Louis Region, April 18, 2014 — Officials for Gateway Motorsports Park and MAKE Motorsports announced today that the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series event will be known as the "Drivin’ for Linemen 200." NASCAR returns to the St. Louis area on June 14, 2014 — for the first time since 2010 — with a race that will bring a heightened level of awareness to the Linemen of America and the electrical industry. The Linemen were slated to be recognized today by the U.S. Congress for their efforts as first responders during natural disasters. This race will pay tribute to the past, present, future and fallen Linemen.

"Gateway Motorsports Park is honored to be associated with the Fallen Linemen Organization and the International Lineman’s Museum," said Curtis Francois, CEO and owner of Gateway Motorsports Park. "With the sporadic and dangerous weather we experience here in the Midwest, our fans understand the critical role electrical linemen play in assisting other first responders in their efforts to save lives. Our goal with this event partnership is to recognize these heroes, their families, and pay tribute to the men and women who have sacrificed their lives helping others."

This is the first venture into event marketing for the Linemen industry as a whole. The No. 50 MAKE Motorsports Chevrolet Silverado is the first industry-sponsored NASCAR Camping World Truck Series vehicle. The ‘Drivin’ for Linemen 200’ expands on MAKE’s vision to support all Linemen while also bringing awareness to the industry.

"The ‘Drivin’ for Linemen 200’ is dedicated to the hard-working men and women who risk their lives every day to keep America energized," said Tracy Lowe, co-owner of MAKE Motorsports. "We want America to know how important they are in our lives, because without them, we would not have electricity in our homes or businesses and the things we take for granted wouldn't be available. We aim to remember the past with the International Linemen Museum, the present and future linemen and their safety, while honoring the Fallen Linemen Organization."

"Our partnership with the Fallen Linemen Organization supports the track’s focus on celebrating American families by bringing them together for the wonderful American pastime of auto racing during the Father’s Day weekend," explains Francois. 

The ‘Drivin’ for Linemen 200’ NASCAR Camping World Truck Series event will be held under the lights in primetime (7:30 p.m. CT) at the 1.25-mile NASCAR Speedway over the Father’s Day weekend. The track also will host the United States Auto Club (USAC) Silver Crown Series race just prior to NASCAR qualifying. This will be the first NASCAR-sanctioned event at Gateway Motorsports Park under the new ownership of St. Louis native Francois.

For additional information on the Fallen Linemen Organization, please visit www.fallenlinemen.org.

For additional information on the International Lineman Museum, please visit www.linemanmuseum.com.

For information on Gateway Motorsports Park, and to purchase event tickets, please visit www.gatewaymsp.com or call 1-855-racetik.

At Gateway Motorsports Park our mission is to provide our fans, racers and sponsors with a first-class and memorable racing experience. This includes unprecedented access to our NASCAR Superspeedway, NHRA drag strip, road-racing course and grand prix karting venue. Gateway Motorsports Park also serves as a year-round host to special events, automotive industry demonstrations and corporate functions.  Gateway Motorsports Park is locally, and privately, owned and operated by Gateway Acquisitions, LLC.

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Easter Weekend Action For Southern Mods…

Easter Weekend Action For Southern Mods…
The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour will be the lone NASCAR national or regional touring series in action on Easter weekend as the Bunny Hop 150 is slated for Saturday, April 19 at Caraway Speedway in Sophia, N.C.
Four-time tour titlist George Brunnhoelzl III is the defending winner of Caraway’s holiday event, and he brings momentum to the venerable .455-mile oval after a win last week at Langley Speedway in Hampton, Va., which halted the second-longest winless drought of his career. Brunnhoelzl figures to have plenty of competition from points leader Andy Seuss, however. Seuss has won the last three Caraway races and is one triumph shy of tying Brunnhoelzl’s track record of 10 career victories.
Last weekend may have ended a drought for Brunnhoelzl, but it was the continuation of a hot start for NASCAR Next driver Daniel Suárez. Representing Drive for Diversity, Suárez posted his fourth win of the calendar year with a triumph at Súper Óvalo Chiapas in NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series action. He now has two wins apiece in Toyota Series and NASCAR K&N Pro Series East competition in 2014.
The week that was also saw the 2014 season get underway for the NASCAR Whelen Euro Series, which opened at Circuit Ricardo Tomo in Valencia, Spain. Yann Zimmer won the Elite 1 division opener on Saturday while two-time defending series champion Ander Vilariño reached to Victory Lane on Sunday. Seventeen-year-old rookie Neal Van Vaerenbergh was the Elite 2 division winner both days.